Installation Questions

I have a few questions about installation of NC. I am still kind of new to Ubuntu and NC. I am trying to get NC installed and I keep running into issues. Why are the steps to install NC all over the place? It would be nice to have it all in order like a checklist. When I installed the snap package it installed but I want to change the location of the data folder. It didn’t start with a way to choose my DB or anything just a login. I think it’s because I didn’t have LAMP installed. It didn’t say that LAMP needed to be installed. It says that all of the files needed are in the package. Am I missing something? Do I need LAMP installed before the package?

A lot of people that are new to Linux don’t know of all of the changes that have to be made to Ubuntu before installing NC. It would be great if someone put together an actual step-by-step for the overall installation. Again, the installation guide leads you all over and you don’t know what has to be done next. In the guide, after installing the snap package it goes to manual installation and then to more stuff. After you do the package where do you go next? I had OC installed on the server and it worked fine. Something has changed when I tried to upgrade to the new one and I can’t get it installed correctly. That is why I’m installing NC. I do realize that they are very similar but it seems that NC does much more. It seems that a lot of the instructions are for IT pros only not normal people that want their own cloud server to keep their stuff away from the popular cloud sites. Thanks in advance for any help.

Ubuntu 16.04

The official documentation does not provide a step-to-step guide. There are several of such guides by users here. You could take the guide from @JasonBayton: