Install NextCloud 12+ and Collabora Office on Ubuntu with Docker

After running a few instances for a year or so, through quite a few upgrades, I’ve prepared a comprehensive installation guide for NextCloud and Collabora Office (aka CODE) on Ubuntu 16.04 using Docker and Docker Compose, with Nginx, Let’s Encrypt, PHP7 FPM, and MariaDB. Hope it’s useful to someone, and I’m happy to hear any feedback.

Hi

I posted on your blog, but thought better here, so other can see too.

I’m still a linux newbie, so bear with me.

Didn’t get very far…

After

sudo vim /etc/defaults/ufw

and copy the line DEFAULT_FORWARD_POLICY="DROP" tweak it to look like this (commenting out the default, but leaving it there for future reference!):

#DEFAULT_FORWARD_POLICY="DROP"
DEFAULT_FORWARD_POLICY="ACCEPT"

You also have to edit `/etc/ufw/sysctl.conf` and remove the "#" at the start of the following lines, so they look like this:

sudo vim /etc/ufw/sysctl.conf

# Uncomment this to allow this host to route packets between interfaces
net/ipv4/ip_forward=1
net/ipv6/conf/default/forwarding=1
net/ipv6/conf/all/forwarding=1

I end up not being able to access ufw, with error: ERROR: Missing policy for ‘input’

Then I tried figuring it out:

root@ubuntu-18-v6:~# /lib/ufw/ufw-init force-reload

iptables-restore v1.6.1: Can't set policy `[0:0]' on `OUTPUT' line 5: Bad policy name

iptables-restore v1.6.1: option "-j" requires an argument
Error occurred at line: 7
Try `iptables-restore -h' or 'iptables-restore --help' for more information.
iptables-restore v1.6.1: Couldn't load target `ufw-skip-to-policy-input':No such file or directory

Error occurred at line: 19
Try `iptables-restore -h' or 'iptables-restore --help' for more information.
ip6tables-restore v1.6.1: Can't set policy `[0:0]' on `OUTPUT' line 5: Bad policy name

ip6tables-restore v1.6.1: option "-j" requires an argument
Error occurred at line: 7
Try `ip6tables-restore -h' or 'ip6tables-restore --help' for more information.