Incorrect usage of external HDD space

Hello all,

I’m running NextcloudPi on a RPI4 with a 500GB external hard drive (which the system logs as 463GB), but after uploading approximately 274GB of content Nextcloud is now telling me that all 463GB are full…

How can 200GB disappear like that? Does Nextcloud create some sort of temporary files when uploading that I can delete somehow?

I’m pretty new to Nextcloud and Linux so please bear with me if I’m missing something obvious here.

Thanks!

1 2

This is normal. The size of the drive is 500,000,000,000 bytes which converts to roughly 465 GiB (one of the units is displayed colloquially).

I’m not sure about temporary files, but it does store version history for files. Could be something odd happened there.

Can you confirm the space usage with df -h ?

Thanks for the reply, here it is.

So the space is definitely in use… Try going to the data folder and running du -hx. This will show the amount of disk space being used by each file. Maybe that will shed some light on it.

Do you mean the ncdata folder on the external hard drive? Whenever I try to access it I get the message -bash: cd: ncdata: Permission denied.

How can I gain access to the folder? Sorry I’m a complete Linux newbie and it’s all a bit overwhelming as of now :slight_smile:

Ok so I worked out how to access the folder as root (that was educational!).

There are actually two folders in the hard drive, one is ncdata which holds 277GB of all the uploaded files, and a second folder labelled ncdata-04-02-20 which holds the remaining 185GB. Picture below of what the files on this second folder look like. The question now is if it’s safe to delete this folder.

You should not manually make any changes under ncdata.

You can use the occ utility to remove old file versions.

https://docs.nextcloud.com/server/18/admin_manual/configuration_server/occ_command.html#versions

So I followed the command:

sudo -u www-data php occ versions:cleanup