I need help to install nextcloud on Debian

Hi ! I’m new to nextcloud because I’ve got a VPS since some months and I would like to have my personnal cloud and edit files directly online.
My VPS runs Debian 9 and I want my cloud to be accessible through “cloud.mydomain.com

Following installation instructions, I unzipped the archive and putted it in /var/www/cloud.mydomain.com then setted the vhost as I want but it tells me “internal server error” and I don’t know what’s wrong or how to debug.

Could you help me please ? :slight_smile:

500 means Server error, that can mean a lot.
Do your provider have any log files, for the vHost, you can post?
Can you open a Textfile from your NextCloud Installation like
http://cloud.mydomain.com/robots.txt ???

Hi, thanks for your answer. I have access to every log and use Apache web server. Which one do you need ?
I don’t have robots.txt file.

If you have installed nextcloud, there must be a robots.txt. If you open a .php file, it will be parsed from the server and the server only give you the output. If you open a .txt file, it opens directly. So we can see, if it’s a php / server error or not. Maybe you have used a wrong Directory for your installation if you have a 404 error.

Is there a “error.log” or something from Apache?

Sorry I’ve found the robots.txt file, it contains :

User-agent: *
Disallow: /

And the apache log file ends with :

[Sun Jul 08 17:10:45.968009 2018] [:error] [pid 20498] [client 92.170.211.216:60092] {“reqId”:“B6gtyYR19sXEiBQdundt”,“level”:3,“time”:“2018-07-08T15:10:45+00:00”,“remoteAddr”:“92.170.211.216”,“user”:"–",“app”:“PHP”,“method”:“POST”,“url”:"/nextcloud/index.php/heartbeat",“message”:“chmod(): No such file or directory at /var/www/cloud.mydomaine.com/nextcloud/lib/private/Log/File.php#137”,“userAgent”:“Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/67.0.3396.99 Safari/537.36”,“version”:""}

So you open the file on your browser like: