How to rerun post upgrade migration steps (uprade from 24 to 25)

Hi, I am new to NC and just finished my first major version upgrade from 24 to 25 today. The upgrade was performed via web /setting/admin/updater page, all the major upgrade steps were proceeded except the last step, where it asked me to run ‘php occ update’ equivalent from within the updater web page.

I think the last step failed during certain extension update, since it timed out on fetching new version tar.gz file from app store. In the end, my NC instance stayed on the maintenance mode forever.

I’ve tried the following ‘fixes’:

1. Re-ran ‘php occ update’ to catch up missing post update steps. One extension was upgraded.
  2. Brought instance back to normal state (maintenance=off).
  3. /settings/admin/overview reported missing indicies and I fixed it.

However I think things are still wrong somewhere. No obivious errors in updater.log / nextcloud.log, I noticed:

1. /settings/admin/logging page is empty
  2. My user icon looks incorrect.

Now my questions are:

1. Any way to confirm all the post update commands are executed ?
  2. Assuming certain commands failed during my initial run, any way to re-run them manually ?
  3. Is that possible to restore /www/nextcloud folder from previous backup and re-run update again (to fix everything essentially from database) ?

My system info:

• NC version: 25.0.0.18 from 24.0.6.1
  • OS version: debian OMV7 via docker, NC image from linuxserver/nextcloud/latest

Appreciate your help.

• Dongxu

Hi @dxma welcome to the forum :handshake:

very happy to see new users posting qualified questions with lot of things already sorted out. In general upgrading applications is not intended for containers, the philosophy of Docker is rather to throw away old container and replace by new version…