How to install NC on Docker on Synology

I ran NC16-18 on my Synology DS218+ for my home / work sync of data on my machines.
Iā€™m fine with command line stuff but as a HW engineer I donā€™t have the time anymore to devote on learning myself up on the intricacies of linux services etc and piping which version of php.ini to where. I did compile a linux kernel once to include network drivers - but that was 2 decades ago.

Note everything is local network only.

Eventually the system fell over and there were too many php related incompatibilties between Synology releases and NC.

Fast forward to now, Synology is on DSM7 and I believe that a docker container is the best way to get NC up and running for a single user environment.

I cannot find a good tutorial for installing NC and MariaDB in docker as per my system - everything seems very out of date.

The closest I found was synology-docker-mariadb-nextcloud-install

Iā€™m using the linuxserver docker images, as the github/docker ones were inscrutable to me.

Started to sync my stuff to my nextcloud docker instance. After a while, slows to a halt and ā€œfile lockā€ issues.
As this is now docker - I donā€™t know how (or where) to ssh into to run occ tools or access my database, e.g.

Of course Iā€™ve tried a bunch of stuff, but everything is a blind end (my docker user is nextcloud:docker).
Where is a good tutorial on how to install this in a docker? And a good tutorial for how to do maintenance in docker installs (NC still seems to be flakey and DB maintenance needs to be done by hand)?

What about this one:

That is not helpful and in fact rather rude.

There are plenty of shitty or incorrect tutorials on the internet on how to setup stuff up badly (to wit: OpenVPN).
There are also plenty of crappy cooking sites on how to make chili.

I was hoping that someone might have a ā€œknown goodā€ tutorial, as I can imagine that things written a number of years ago are no longer recommended or supported.

1 Like