How to extend (ncdata) storage space to another flashdrive on NextCloudPi (on Raspberry Pi 3b+)

Hello everyone!
I am a freshman here, so please donā€™t be mad at me if I have posted my concerns under the wrong category or did not searched the entire forum for all possible variations of my problem! :slight_smile:

So, I have a Raspberry Pi 3b+ and I have installed an NC image from https://www.ownyourbits.com/ onto a 8GB SD card, inserted in the SD slot of the Pi. For the storage itself, I have inserted a 128GB SD card into a USB-card reader and labeled it ā€œUSBdriveā€ and set the nc-datadir to it = /media/USBdrive/ncdata.
So far, so good! My NCP is working as expected and I am syncing my data to it (storing the data to the ncdata dir on the 128GB SD card.)
Now I want to add an additional 200GB SD card in another USB-card reader into a 2nd USB-port of the Pi. I have formated it through the admin pannel (TOOLS >> nc-format-USB) as a BTRFS partition and labeled it ā€œSD_200GBā€.
And here comes the tricky part, which I am unable to figure out since almost 2 weeks, searching across the whole Internetā€¦

1. How to extend the ncdata forlder, so it could combine the space of the 2 SD cards together (128GB + 200GB) and to use the whole amount of the available space? :thinking:
  2. How to create the proper RAID# option to merge the space from the 2 SD cards (or even more USB/SD storage drives in the future)? :thinking:

I will really really appreciate your help on that concern, folks!
Huge thanks in advance! :vulcan_salute:
Cheers! :slight_smile:

One easy method is to mount the additional card via fstab and then mount within NextcloudPi as local storage.

I use LVM (Logical Volume Manager) and/or btrfs to manage space across drives.

2 Likes

Hi @just!

Thanks for your reply!