How to download my entire drive onto an external HDD as secondary backup?

Hello everyone,

I am relatively new to Nextcloud and to this forum and I am not incredibly tech-savvy, so I apologize in advance for not understanding, or maybe posting this in the wrong place or way.

I am using Nextcloud as quite a regular cloud service. I have all of my important files, videos and photos uploaded to it, as a means of backup, but also so that I can reach them at any given time on all my devices. This works quite well, but it does make me kind of nervous to only have my files in 1 place. So I have bought an external HDD so I can backup my files in a second location.
My question is: What is the best way to download my complete drive (over 300 GB of files, photos and videos) onto an external HDD.

I have already tried just downloading the folders through the web-app, but they download into a .tar compressed file, which my MacBook doesn’t let me unpack (not because of the file extension, but because of some kind of error). Downloading everything through a WebDAV connection takes multiple eternities, not a great option. Synchronizing with the MacOS desktop app is also not an option because I don’t have enough disk space on my MacBook for that.

I would really appreciate it if anyone would have an idea of how I could do this.

In the future I would want to keep updating my backups of course, so that is also something I was thinking about. Doing it manually would be quite the hassle, so if there is a creative way to automate this, I would also be very interested. But maybe that is a subject for a separate topic…

Thanks a lot in advance to anyone that would be willing to help me with this!

Hello and welcome to the Community Support Forum! :wave:

Which kind of access do you have to your Nextcloud server?

Web UI of course since you mentioned it, but do you have

• physical access to the machine where your Nextcloud server is running?
  • FTP?
  • SSH?