How do you self-host Nextcloud?

Hi everyone.

Iā€™m wanting to self-host Nextcloud as Iā€™ve heard that it is the best solution for privacy and owning your data.

So my goal is to completely own my data.

I am completely new to self-hosting and I donā€™t know where to start. Iā€™ve tried looking for guides online but I canā€™t seem to find a clear cut guide on how to self-host, starting from no knowledge on how to do it.

How can I get started?

Are there any easy to follow guides out there that are geared towards privacy and owning your data?

Also, are there any drawbacks to self-hosting that I should be aware of? Do I need to maintain it regularly or does it ā€œjust workā€ once itā€™s all set up?

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

Hello, please do some basic research. Read docs.nextcloud.com or try a basic search of the internet to answer this question. We are volunteers, so please understand this is a very generic question. Try a bit of research first.

Start with an internet or forum search. Something like ā€œshould I self hostā€ or ā€œhow to install nextcloudā€. Once you have a more specific question youā€™ll be able to get more specific advice. Perhaps it is not Nextcloud, but servers / linux in general you might need to understand first for selfhosting.

Thanks!

Links to those youā€™ve read and more info on why they werenā€™t helpful would be really helpful!

1 Like

If you are complete new setup, Nextcloud AIO might be good start, but please read the installation document careful and plan your data.
If you have existed Nextcloud with data, that will be much difference.

understand linux first and get to know the software involved.

choose a OS and read its documentation.

https://www.debian.org/doc/

choose a webserver that is widely used and is well documented.

https://httpd.apache.org/docs/

NC uses a SQL database

https://mariadb.com/kb/en/documentation/

NC is build upon php which is used localy and by the webserver