High cpu load on apache V16.0.0.5

After Upgrade to 16.0.0.5 I got a ascending CPU load in my nextcloud instance running on my own vSphere host. It starts exactly on the day of upgrade. After A reboot and waiting a few minutes the load is again very high. One apache tast uses 100% CPU Load.
No Calendar Sync is activated.
No I took a backup and upgrade to the Beta 17.0.0.0 it seems no better, but I have no long time experience with the beta. I don’t planed to install the beta releases, but now I tried it out because of this issue. Maybe I go back to the 16.0.0.5 with the last backup, but I let it run for a while for collecting som more performance datas.

I see other Threads with CPU Load, but depends on older versions and often with the calendar app. Not the case here.

Sigma

I have the same problem. There are many lines in the Apache log file.
…PROPFIND /remote.php/dav/files/…

Try to check if Cache is really enabled. For me it was disabled in config, but somehow NC does not noticed it. CPU Load goes twice down. https://docs.nextcloud.com/server/16/admin_manual/installation/server_tuning.html#tune-php-fpm

I turned on the apcu cache and it solved.
The CPU load is now fluctuating. It’s OK?

I do have a similar pattern as you, I run the tasks in a cron-job every 10 minutes:

How often do you run background tasks @sigma and do you have some image preview plugin installed?

I have similar, but for 2 very small cores :slight_smile:

How many users do you have? I have on-line 120-150 users.
Graph from today…

6 Human Users and 1 Robot account on Cubietruck with AllWinnerTech SOC A20 ARM® Cortex™-A7 Dual-Core and 2GB RAM.
You can see that on “Business hours” I hit CPU Limits and WebUI is not very responsible, but client do the job. Here is the difference when Clients are active and not.

I have around 3-4 Active users during the day: