Help ! remote access from mobile

Hello,
I have a problem, I hope some of you can help me.
I’m new, first time using NextCloud.

I would need to reach my cloud from mobile, outside the local network, i.e. when I am away from home I would like to access my files.

But I can’t understand how to do it. Can you help me?

Thank you

Hello and welcome to the communityforum of nextcloud.

Well… how have you installed Nextcloud and where?
How experienced are you with computers and especially with Linux?
How much time are you able and willing to invest?

1 Like

HI,
nexcloud is installed on truenas.
With linux little experience, if anyone can provide me with a guide on how to do it.

yes… there’s truenas forum… forum.truenas.com - and I’m pretty sure that there are good threads about how to install and maintain NC to a TN-device.

But with you being a linux rookie I just want to suggest that there might be easier options for you to have a nextcloud running as NC usually isn’t a one-click-to-happiness app. It needs to be setup, maintained, updated, upgraded (by “it” it mean not only NC but all the apps around that you need to keep it running safely). - At least you open your private network to the world so you should know how to handle things.

maybe it would be better for you to buy yourself a managed nextcloudservice somewhere and you wouldn’t have any more maintaining-, upgrading-, security-issues anmd if you would face problems there would be a real support as well.

and please understand me correct: I don’t want to scare you away from here… I love that you’re here.
But right now there’s only little we can do for you, except for giving you a rough insight about what selfhosting means

1 Like

Hi,

• First you need to have a domain name.
  • Second, you need to have an IP address which is accessible from the internet (Outside of your home)
  • If you have a static IP address, then you can create a subdomain in your DNS