Help installing NC via AIO on VPS

Hi, I’m trying to install NC on a VPS instance and am running into problems when trying to do the domain check. I have followed the guide on Github to install docker and launch the mastercontainer. In the logs of the mastercontainer I see errors about Caddy(?) failing to bind to ports 80 and 443 with permission denied and I can only access the AIO interface on doimain.co.uk:8080. When going to domain.co.uk or domain.co.uk:8443 it doesn’t resolve. Using the portcheck site that the AIO suggests show that ports 443 and 8443 are indeed closed.

I have tried using UFW to allow these ports and this doesn’t seem to make a difference.
I have also tried skipping the domain check, but then once the containers are spun up nextcloud-apchce shows the same errors as the AIO in failing to bind to ports and I can never get to the NC web interface.

I am new to webhosting but not to Linux so I thought the AIO would be a good way to go and this is baffling me a bit.

Thanks for any help.

Hi, see Apache cannot start because listen tcp :443: bind: permission denied · Discussion #1267 · nextcloud/all-in-one · GitHub

I’ll double check the docker install, but I’m running on Ubuntu 22.04 so I doubt an old kernel is the issue.

True Ubuntu 22.04 should cause this issue.
I suppose you are also not using docker-rootless?
Then maybe your VPS provider is the problem. What provider are you using?

No, I’m using a standard docker install, not rootless. I’m running on hostinger.

hm… then I don’t have a good explanation why binding these ports inside the container fails. It should work with kernel 4.11 or higher.

Since I cannot reproduce your issue, it is however still likely infrastructure related.

E.g. there also recently was a problem with a different provider named Strato: GitHub - nextcloud/all-in-one: Nextcloud AIO stands for Nextcloud All In One and provides easy deployment and maintenance with most features included in this one Nextcloud instance.