Get files from the sftp server

i’m new to Nextcloud and I’m having some difficulties with structure of the folders the they add files.
I’m using openmediavault > docker > Nextcloud. I sync my work computer with SFTP and I would like to use Nextcloud at home. I want to use nextcloud like an repository, when I receive a call to make a change to a file to avoid making the sync by hand I would like to use Nextcloud to just download a specific folder and sync it while I’m working, then when I go to work I would like sync using SFTP between my home server. I sync from my work when the day ends and projects are wrapped up.
I already transferred the files to the nextcloud folder but none appeared.

Here an image to exemplify what I’m looking for:

Thanks in advance

The problem with sftp is that you go around Nextcloud’s internal file management. I see two options:

• use the Nextcloud client (to sync) or connect through webdav (winscp supports it), so the connection goes through Nextcloud and it can track all files changes correctly.
  • use an external storage (which is where you connect with sftp), it must be outside the usual Nextcloud home folder. Advantage: you can still use sftp and for external storage Nextcloud allows changes by external programs and is tolerant to changes done by others.

Why do you use SFTP? For better performance?

At my home people use IPTV alot, and I being an designer I deal with big files and I save them many times bypassing losing them, I prefer sync in a specific time like lunch or at the end of the day and make it in one take and with shortest amount of time possible to avoid ruin my home network speed. I made a script using freefilesync that sync with my sftp then shuts the computer. Is possible to something like this with webdav?

dav2fs and rsync on Linux. Not sure about Windows what tools there are around for webdav, cyberduck, winscp, …