Fresh instalation using web installer cannot connect to mariadb running in docker

I am doing a fresh nextcloud installation using a web installer, the mariadb is running in the docker container.

CONTAINER ID   IMAGE          COMMAND                  CREATED         STATUS       PORTS                    NAMES
e7b5d6ac8d8d   mariadb:10.4   "docker-entrypoint.s…"   3 hours ago     Up 2 hours   0.0.0.0:3306->3306/tcp   dockercompose_mariadb_1
0c90a3869409   redis:6.0.9    "docker-entrypoint.s…"   10 months ago   Up 2 hours   0.0.0.0:7001->6379/tcp   redis1

in which I already have created the nextcloud db and nextcloud user.

please help

I’m not a Docker expert, but you didn’t specify a port on your screenshot . I would try localhost:3306

Don’t use localhost or 127.0.0.1 when using Docker. Try the actual interface IP.

Do you mean 172.17.0.1 ?

5: docker0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UP group default 
    link/ether 02:42:10:12:29:cd brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 172.17.0.1

I have tried it but I get this error:

# mysql -u root -h 172.17.0.1 -P 3306  -p
Enter password: 
ERROR 2003 (HY000): Can't connect to MySQL server on '172.17.0.1' (113 "No route to host")

however just to ensure the nextcloud user in mariadb is set correctly:

MariaDB [nextcloud]> SELECT User, Host FROM mysql.user;

+-------------+-----------+
| User        | Host      |
| nextcloud   | %         |
| root        | %         |
| mariadb.sys | localhost |
| root        | localhost |

I would recommend you familiarize yourself with docker and especially docker networking concepts. Depending what you are trying to achieve using host network driver would be a solution.

In my eyes there is no reason to link “normal” Nextcloud instance to dockerized database, I would suggest either all docker or all local, but you might have reasons to do so.