Enterprise version vs Community one

Hi ! This is Michel from Brazil!

I am really noob here and in Nextcloud world, but I’m got interested on it because the open-source approach. However, there is some questions about the difference between Enterprise version and Community one.

1 - What means by it says community edition get only 9 month for Security Update ? I think that means "We (Nexcloud maintainer) will not put effort in to update the community version, but its source-code on github will be available to get pull requests from community maintainers when 9 month get past "

2 - When applicable, features updates for Nextcloud will be also released for community version when it get past 9 month ? I hope yes, because the enterprise version would get advantage when some community maintainer put some path feature (usually security pathes) there, does it ?

3 - Can a given company or non-profit organization (e.g. churches and charities ) to use the Nextcloud community version instead of use the Enterprise one ? (Sorry I did not read all of AGPL3 License for now. Do you mind just to say “yes” or “no” ?)

Thank you for the help!

First you can read Nextcloud Fair Use Policy and NGO program and Nextcloud Enterprise.

Read maintenance and Release Schedule. Normal users can or must upgrade Nextcloud regular. At some companies it is not possible and they can then use older versions. There is no disadvantage as long as you regularly install new versions.

Feature updates are always in the newest versions. And with only 9 month support you must install newer versions than some companies.

I think everybody can use the community version. It is AGPL. If you do not need support and if you have not 500+ users (push notification, message at login) you can make what you want.

1 Like

Got it …
I think you solved the other question, but the third one I’m still struggling with to understand it …