Docker vs Traditional Config

I’ve been running Nextcloud/Owncloud on a Raspberry Pi since 2014. I just upgraded to a basic home server with the intent of experimenting with other unrelated stuff. Just need Nextcloud to be running at the same time.

I understand the benefit of using Docker at scale, or for multiple instances, but as a basic user planning to implement Collabora, what are the benefits of familiarizing myself with Docker and configuring that way, versus setting-up the manual config that I know and that I’m familiar with?

Again, I’m a pretty basic user. Just a dude with a hobby on the side.

If I go with Docker, I get the feeling that it is more restrictive? Is that true? Any suggestions for which build to use, and how to connect with Collabora?

Thanks!

3 Likes

I, too, am wondering the same thing.

you may compare my two ansible playbooks.

both do nearly the same. install nextcloud.
(the docker version right now is still without the online offices suites. and in the ohter one i have to delete the empty folders.)

if you run them both you will mention that the docker one has less steps. while the non-docker version is doing a lot config stuff on the os level.
this config stuff is already done inside the docker image during build. (more or less a docker file is an installation skript.) to docker.io a complete installed images is pushed.

if you run the docker playbook with an -e state=absent nextcloud is removed. nearly complete so you would get a “clean” machine again. (i would have to add same steps to remove everything.) to revered the installation without docker is a lot more work.
but state=absent won’t remove your data. you run the playbook again and you can login to your nextcloud like nothing happened. if some updated one of the images in the mean time you will get the latest version. if you don’t like the update. you remove the container, pull an older image and you back online with your favorite version.