Do I need PHP-FPM?

Hello,

I setup a Nextcloud instance on my Debian 10 server with Apache, following the documentation. Everything works just fine, except for the web interface that takes several seconds to load.

I’ve seen online many tutorials involving FPM, which I understand has something to do with PHP, but it’s not entirely clear to me if I should install it or if it will indeed make the web interface load faster. I can see FPM mentioned in the documentation but I think it never says that you should install it.

Sorry if this is a stupid question but I’m very new to web servers and PHP.

1 Like

No, you don’t need php-fpm. You either already have it or you have mod_php in apache.

Your install it’s probably slow because of some other reason. Do you see any remarks if you go to yoursite.example.com/settings/admin/overview ? solve those.

Hi Giuseppe,

thanks for your answer. I forgot to mention that I’ve already fine-tuned the instance following the directions on the overview page.

Nextcloud is actually performing very well, I just have to wait about 10 seconds when I try to reach the web interface, but once it loads everything is very smooth.

Glad to hear it.

As for php-fpm, it’s the only way to run php under nginx or lighttpd, but it also works with apache.

If it performs better than apache’s mod_php is kinda of an open question, so, yeah, you can try but don’t expect too much off it.

From your description it looks like a network problem, though.

1 Like

So is the delay when first opening the web page not normal? I don’t think it’s caused by something wrong with my network, as everything else works just fine. For what it’s worth, I’m using a Raspberry Pi 4, but as I already mentioned everything is very smooth once the web page loads.

I use a Raspberry Pi 3b (not +) and sometimes get the same. Check cpu usage, dunno.

No, the long delay is not normal. Mine takes about 2 seconds. I’m not running on a pi though. Not sure if it’s normal for those.