Create Backup fails without indicated reason

When upgrading to 20.0.2, the web updater stopped with the step “Create backup” with no reason given. With older versions it would indicate some files which caused this error. This was not provided here.

From older experience I looked for some files with invalid access rights. I found a copy of my config file with root access right and deleted it. Now the updater runs fine.

I have the same problem

Because I am a beginner, I need more info here.
Where did you find which files? Name and folder

I’m getting the same problem when updating from 20.0.3 to 20.0.4. Nothing in the Nextcloud logging (via the web interface) Nothing in the syslog, dmesg etc. Nothing at all. I’ve checked similar past postings and none apply to my case. :frowning: !
It would be helpful to know where Nextcloud tries to place the backup. Maybe then I could do some further investigation.

I have the same problem.
I’m new to NC. With all 5 updates I have done since I installed NC I had problems.
This is quite annoying. I don’t have access to the command line, so no other choice than using the web updater.

SOLVED :smiley: :sunglasses:
I’ve solved the backup problem on my installation and now I have been able to update.
So, I can recommend doing the following:-

On the command line go to wherever you have the Nextcloud installation and go to the updater directory For me the command is:-
cd /var/www/nextcloud/updater
Then run this:-
sudo -u www-data php updater.phar