Connection not secure

Hello,

Complete noob here, trying to migrate from Google to NextCloud. I just installed NextCloud on Linode using the Linode Marketplace.

Now trying to access my NextCloud portal with [my_ip]/nextcloud it only works with an HTTP connection and not HTTPS.

It obviously made me twitch a little :worried:

Did I miss something during setup?

Sorry i do not use or know Linode. But read this.
I think you need a domain, subdomain or hostname (DNS).

Hi @apalfalba

Alternatively, you could use a self-signed certificate. Alltough I wouldn’t recommend this for production use, especially if you want to share files with other users, because with self signed certs they will get a security warning whenever they visit your site. However for testing purposes it is perfectly fine.

As I understand it, the “One Click” Apps use a normal Debian or Ubuntu VM and then automatically install the application on it via a script. So it should be possible to log on to the Linode machine via SSH and then follow these instructions…

Right so you’re implying (also from @bb77 's response) that I need to setup a DNS and the security comes with that?

(New stuff to me, but if that’s the case then I can just add some domain easily).

PS: now the question is how to add the domain after creating the instance on Linode.

Sorry. DNS is the wrong word. You need a DNS name for your IP address.
Do you have a domain? Can you configure subdomains?

I have a domain. I think I can do some subdomain. That should be in Linode Doc surely.

Self-signed certificates are not considered insecure because the encryption would be less secure, but for various other reasons that could be discussed here at length. Here are a few arguments and reasons Why Self-Signed Certificates Are Evil – Revocent

The following two points are relevant in this context for you