Choosing a hosting services - tips for a beginner

hello, Iā€™m working towards making an overhaul switch from Google One to Nextcloud. I have very little knowledge in this process and would appreciate any tips from those of you who mightā€™ve done it before.

Iā€™m certain I would like my server to be hosted elsewhere, by a trusted hosting service rather than at home. my use case would be storing my email address and docs (similar to Gmail and G.Drive) but Iā€™d also appreciate being able to store images and big files as backups. so a large storage plan is a compelling idea.

Iā€™ve got a little lost amongst all the options, there are shared CPU hosting services from companies like Linode and Digitalocean and then there are dedicated Nextcloud plans offered by hosting providers such as Ionos and Hetzner.

the price differences between Linode and Ionos, for instance, is VAST and Iā€™m trying to figure out whatā€™s the catch.

Ionos offers a 1TB plan for Ā£9 pm whereas anything equivalent to that on Linode is far out of my reach (ex: a 640GB storage plan costs 64USD pm).

the little that I do understand is that Linode provides a whole virtual system, upon which the user individually deploys their Nextcloud configuration. itā€™s a whole system with CPU as well as SSD storage. Ionos doesnā€™t supposedly provides the user with a virtual machine but an already deployed Nextcloud client which can be used on their servers as I use Google Drive now. whyā€™s it better or worse than what Linode offers?

thanks for the helpers :pray:

You are in your rights to be confused and overwhelmed. It really IS a vast amount of opportunities, wherr most fits maybe only partially what you search for and others are to ā€œbigā€ (aimed at small or medium organizations).

Ionos is a good place to start. I have only read good things about them.