Can't access server in local network using my dns domain (although i can from 192.168.1.2). From external internet i can access the dns domain

Hi

I have had a nextcloupi instance working in last 3 years on a RPi 3b+, but it stopped working after changing my router.
Just to clear out, I’m no expert in IT.

I’ve installed a new instance of NCP but the problem persists.
Tried fresh installations using docker and ncp image given in nextcloudpi.com, but neither worked as expected.

After installation:
I CAN access Nextcloud instance

• using 192.168.1.2 in any device connected to my router
  • ricardos.duckdns.org from any device that is not connected to my router

however I CAN’T access Nextcloud instance

I’ve Checked that ports TCP 80 and TCP 443 are open for nextcloudpi device (192.168.1.2) in my router

I’ve tried to use DNSmasq app from the ncp webui, but that didn’t work as well.
Do I need to do something in the client machine (laptop and android).?

I’ve scratched my head so hard with this, but I’m not getting it myself and I need help.

cheers

we have a lot of threads regarding this subject.

if your router can’t handle requests to his external ip from inside, your new router is the problem.

what did you do? split dns?

Thank you @Reiner_Nippes for your interest.

i’ve used https://ownyourbits.com/2017/03/09/dnsmasq-as-dns-cache-server-for-nextcloudpi-and-raspbian/

the only part i din’t do in that recipe was the following (because i don’t understand what is needed). Do i need to do something in the client machine?

"On some modem-routers, you can set your RPi local address as the primary DNS provider. Keep your ISP DNS provider as secondary. If you can do this, no further configuration is needed.

Otherwise, you will need to configure your devices to use your Raspberry Pi’s address for DNS lookups.

For your PC, configure it in Network Manager if that is what you use, or set it up in /etc/resolv.conf like this