Can't access nextcloud after update to 25.0.1

Hello,

I just updated nextcloud to the latest stable version 25.0.1. I updated through the web installer. Now I cant connect to my files. Not via the web neither via the file manager. I can’t reach the login page anymore. Just get an error saying the page is not working.

I am running nextcloud on my Ubuntu desktop 22.04. I tried to update php from 7.4 to 8.0 but it still not working. Seems like apache i still working though.

I am not very good at programming. I managed to install nextcloud and it has been running flawless ever since. Is there any way I can get some help to solve this? I will probably need quite accurate instructions.

/Henrik

3 Likes

hey @hekdahl and welcome to the communityforum of NC

am I (we as in “the forumcommunity”) allowed to get to know if you’re running your instance on a 32bit - machine, perhaps?

1 Like

Look into PHP logfile, webserver logfile, system logfile, nextcloud logfile.
If you can’t find something there you need to increase logging in php.ini: PHP Error Log Guide: Configuration And Use Cases

i mean: in general it would be good, if you’d provide more info about the problematic instance.

there’s a template which comes with every thread you’re starting anew on here. We do not ask that to torture our member but to being able providing better help to them…

I am also running Ubuntu 22.04 LTS. After the upgade, I kept getting a “Try to Reload” page. After doing some searching I found that I needed to do an “occ upgrade”.

The error I found was in:
/var/log/apache2/nextcloud-error_log

Error:
Got error 'PHP message: PHP Fatal error: Declaration of OCA\Talk\Share\RoomShareProvider:

Steps taken to fix:

TRY AT YOUR OWN RISK

in a terminal change to your nextcloud directory like:
cd /var/www/nextcloud

then type:
sudo -u www-data bash -c ‘php occ upgrade’

That should get you back to a login page.

Afterwards i had to install the OCCweb app in Nextcloud and run: