Cannot delete files (pictures) using NextCloud Interface

Stack

• Nextcloud version:28.0.0.11
  • Operating system and version: Ubuntu 22.04.3 LTS
  • Apache or nginx version:2.4.52
  • PHP version: with Zend OPcache v8.1.2-1ubuntu2.14
  • MySQL: 8.0.35-0ubuntu0.22.04.1

The problem:

New install. No apps uploaded or added. Stock install via “latest.zip” in web directory. Everything working correctly. I am an experienced server admin (since 2005 on various systems), not an expert, but not new.

I did several installs of NextCloud recently, both through Snap and Manually in order to solve what ended up being some bad PHP settings. After solving that, I blew the install away and did a new install again which went as expected and everything went smoothly.

Now… I uploaded a test picture (yes, through the web interface), just to start tinkering with NextCloud. After uploading, I could not delete it. Yes, via the NextCloud interface (NOT via the command line or SFTP).

So then I tried to delete one of the included NextCloud files to see if that was also a problem and it is.

1. Go to “All Media”
  2. Click the stock NextCloud image (the one with the people in front of a building) and try to delete.
  3. Message: “Failed to delete Nextcloud community.jpg.:heavy_multiplication_x:

This also happens with any file, not just this one photo.

Permissions are correct in all directories and I have checked the file structure via occ.

I want to start using NextCloud, but I need to figure out why this is happening first. In searching the forums and web, I can see that this problem has popped up numerous times over the years. I am not doing anything non standard and there is no memcache in place at the moment.

I am open to exploring the stack and if any settings in PHP are causing this but to be clear, it is not working as it should.