Best way of setting Nextcloud install on OMV and some configuration questions

I run OpenMediaVault 6 and I want to be able to access my data outside the network so I decided to install Nextcloud since I learned that I can use external storage to access my existing SMB/local shares from my NAS.

I find it very hard deciding the best solution of installing Nextcloud. I saw that different guys uses different methods. Some are recommeding install it without the use of docker (like here and here). Others prefer installing it inside a docker (examples are mostly everywhere on YouTube). Given the fact that I’m a newbie in this area, I need some advices about how to install it and what variant path should I take. So I have some questions below:

1. Should I install Nextcloud inside docker or not? What is the advantage of installing in the docker?

2. If installing inside the docker will NC root folder path would still exist inside the OMV (Debian) file system ( /var/www/html ) ?

3. I saw one video that made the Nextcloud root folders (share, appdata, Nextcloud database) inside a OpenMediaVault shared folder so it was visible and not hidden in the root file system. Is this a good approach? Or should it be left to set as default?

4. Can you tell me from personal experience which is the best way of installing NC? Maybe a step by step tutorial could help.

5. I saw that I need a port management change. Since NC should run on port 80 I have to change the port of OMV to 90 or other. How do you approach this port management with some future apps install?

6. Also if I hypothetically decide to run NC on port 82 I have to open that forward that port as well from the router or just forward 80 externally to 82 internally?

7. When setting external storage what protocol should I use? “local”, “SMB”, “WevDAV”? Again: different guys shows different choices and I want to figure out the best way of doing it.