Are there really different products? Or just use cases?

First off - The more I read about Nextcloud, the more impressed I get! I am not a native English speaker, but do as well as I can.

I am new to Nextcloud, but not new to Linux and several other OS’es.

But I am wondering a bit about the different products listed on the Nextcloud website.

Are they really different? Or are we just talking about different configurations and use cases?

I want to set up Nextcloud to use it for me and my family at first, then later maybe add a separate install for my small business.

My main idea is to set up a server with a VM host and run a few different things. I am not trying to stuff everything into Nextcloud, not stuff Nextcloud into something else. I want to keep each thing in its own VM.

Nextcloud (Google replacement)
NAS (storage and backup)
Possibly mailserver
VPN

Are there different starting points that will influence what you end up installing?

1 Like

What is your question?

If you don’t require the enterprise features use the free version. Simple.

I thought the question was pretty clear?

1 Like

It’s not clear. What are you asking?

Compare the features of enterprise with the open source version and then ask the question again.

You’re including a lot of things that aren’t Nextcloud in your question. Nextcloud does not provide a mail server or VPN, and it isn’t really a NAS in the traditional sense either.

To your question, no, there are not different installations for different things. You install Nextcloud itself which is just the main file management part, and then if you want to incorporate anything like Talk or Collabora, you add it after.

This wasn’t his question either.

For the original question, Nextcloud is useful for various configurations and use cases. It is standards compliant, so just add whatever kind of storage you want on the back end and let Nextcloud serve it up.

You can definitely set up one instance for home and another for work.