All Data on external storage possible?

Hi,
I’m really new to Nextcloud and I just finished my first installation inside a Debian 10 VM on my Synology NAS.
This means that also the files that I upload to my Nextcloud will be stored inside this VM.
But I want all files to be stored on a separate shared folder on my NAS.

I see big advantages by doing so:

1. Backups are a lot easier since I can include them in my already existant automatic backups of the NAS.
  2. I also want to access the files locally via SMB/cifs. Nextcloud should just be used for accessing files over the Internet, Sharing, Calender etc.
  3. VM doesn’t grow to hundet of gigabytes
  4. VM snapshots include only the OS, webserver configuration and Nextcloud itself.

My first idea was to just mount that shared folder with fstab to the current location of my Nextcloud data folder (/var/nextcloud_data) but I see problems here:

1. Probably unnecessary bad performance(?)
  2. File operations (add,change,delete) via SMB (without Nextcloud software) won’t be recognized by Nextcloud as far as I know.
  3. What about file permissions? If I create a file over SMB it probably doesn’t have www-data:www-data ownership?

Currently I have no idea how I could realize that.

I’m thankful for any help. :slight_smile:

1. cant say anything about it
  2. run sudo -u www-data php /var/www//html/nextcloud/occ files:scan --all
    replace the path with your path, this will recognized the files in NC
  3. do chown …
  1. Unlikely. Or do you have +1000 user?
  2. Mount the share (nfs-local,smb,ftp,sftp,webdav) as external storage. nextcloud is than aware about file changes. → no need for occ file:scan --all
  3. if you use the external storage app this handle by nextcloud.

i have no idea why people want to run nc on synology. what is the usecase?

I can’t do that everytime I access a file, lol.

I’m looking for an automatic solution.

I’ll try that, thank you.