I have NC13 loaded with Ubuntu 16.04 LAMP server with a need to block specific Folders and Files from being Synchronized by the clients.
I have created a User and a Group for the purposes of segregating data and to function as read only information. However, I cannot find a way to prevent that data from synchronizing with user’s Clients once it’s shared with them.
The only limits I can find are with the end-users un-checking that folder in the client. Furthermore, if they remove an existing Sync-Connection and create a new one, then it doesn’t do anything to prevent the segregated files or folders from synchronizing upon establishing the new Sync-connection.
Shared files have the ability to be downloaded as it is, which is fine in our case, but this folder is nearly a terabyte in size. It’s historical data that we have to protect from user changes but not from viewing.
We want users restricted from accessing this data accept through a web browser, only those users we’ve added to the group for this access, able to download individual files or folders, but not able to synchronize this folder with their client.
Is there any method (and what would that be?), from the server/Administrative side, to prevent shared folders and files from being synchronized?
Currently syncing can’t be prevented, only obfuscated. You can limit access to certain client names, etc.
Background is that WebDAV is used any there are many clients which provide sync functionalities.
If obfuscation is good enough for you, there are tricks with the file access app etc.
Thank you for the reply. I’ll look at the obfuscations you mention to see if I can use it to prevent my users from downloading this content, but it sounds like I’ll have to go with Samba file shares for that. I was really hoping to achieve this with one access point.
I can try that and see if it works they way we need it to.
I don’t want to actually block the users from everything. I need to block their access to sync one specific folder and it’s contents that I need to share to them, but of course they still need to be able to view that folder and it’s contents from their web browsers when they log into our cloud.
In addition an important note. Make sure the tag “DoNotSync” is invisible or restricted (haven’t actually tested the difference here). By that you want to make sure that these users cannot remove the tag when accessing the folder with the browser.
I realize this comment is quite old, but it speaks to my exact requirements.
When a client has already synced a shared folder, and the folder is then tagged for purposes of no longer allowing for client sync as per the above, is any already-synced content deleted on the client machine?
As I understand your question; If you deselect a folder for sync on your device from within the Desktop or mobile app will it delete that content? The answer in my experience is no. In my experience with this the data is persistent until you delete the files or the folder/directory it resides within.