Selective sync still downloads folders that are not selected

After some digging I found this old closed github issue:

It seems like this behavior I’m seeing is intentional. I feel like this is counter-intuitive and is also not explained anywhere in the documentation. Does anyone know the reason for why they have implemented it like this?

The only two fixes currently are: