Writing access for an NTFS network disk!

First, I am very new to Ubuntu! I set up the next cloud and with the default data location it works fine. Then I decided to move it to an external disk that I access through my home network using an IP address. I mounted the disk using CIFS (it took me hours to figure out that I must mount it in /media/ directory not /mnt/ for nextcloud to have access) in /media/ folder.
Now this is the error I get:

Data directory (/media/…/data) is readable by other users
Please change the permissions to 0770 so that the directory cannot be listed by other users.

The problem is that CIFS does not provide chmod protocol and my hdd is in NTFS (my router does not support ex3/4). I couldn’t get ntfs-3g to mount the network disk. I appreciate any help! :blush:

it is possible but it is quite an intricate issue since there are different access-models involved.
NTFS is a microsoft filesystem (manages filestructures on a disk) and CIFS is a (microsoft) network-protocol. ntfs-3g is a (linux-)filesystem utility that allows access to ntfs-filesystems (on a local disk).
so your router mounts the ntfs-disk with the defined access-settings (imagine about 50 different permissions, inheritance settings etc.) then your router’s cifs-daemon allows access to that disk with its own network-access-settings (if you “add” those perms, the lowest has precedence, eg if the network-daemon allows to write but the local disk does not, writing is not possible). eg. A can read, B can read/write, unknown has no access etc. the users that can obtain those perms are either local (to the ntfs-filesystem; eg user-accounts on the host it resides on) or network, ie in a directory-service (windoze-server with LDAP; “domain”, “active directory”, …)