Transfer files via SSH to datafolder in nextcloud

Hi

Now I understand that transferring a lot of files via Webdav is very slow.
So, how do i transfer files via SSH from client (windows) to the server (R PI3)?
I’ve tried to use the psftp.exe but i got a message saying “acess denied”!! even as root
I believe that this is related to the permission to acess files. I’ve created in NC a user “ricardo” and so it’s natural that only “ricardo” user can copy files to datafolder of “ricardo”

How do I overcome this. Newbie here :smile:

thanks in advance

I wrote a somewhat related article that you can check out

https://ownyourbits.com/2017/04/18/different-ways-to-access-your-nextcloud-files/

Maybe the pushpi script would be helpful for you. Also look at the SSHfs section for inspiration :wink:

In any case, in order to use scp/ssh/rsync, you need a system user ( not a nextcloud user ). That user would be for example the default user pi, and you would need to create it through the terminal ( be it SSH or plugging in a keyboard ).

SSH/SCP/rsync are not aware of your Nextcloud credentials, but of your system credentials.

Hope it makes sense :slight_smile:

Yes I’ve read your post.
I’ve concluded that the best way to do it is by SSH, but i have permission problems.

i’ve done something like this

pscp -r -i C:\sitedeploy\abt-keypair.ppk includes\ root@mysite.com:/media/…/ricardo/files/includes/

cheers

if you want to use SCP you need to be aware the permissions, yes

Nextcloud files are owned by the www-data user that runs the web server.

you would have do something like adding your user (say ‘ricardo’) to the www-data group and make sure that the data folder has read and write permissions for the www-data group.

Then try something like

pscp ........... ricardo@mysite.com:/path/to/ricardo/files/includes

If you read the post, you already know that then you have to scan for new files so the new files that you copied externally are recognized by Nextcloud