Stuck at initial setup - creation of database admin users fails

Hi all,

This is my first time trying to install Nextcloud. Everything worked so far (O. K., after some rework). Now I am stuck at the first screen in the browser where the NC config asks for data to create NC admin user and to set up the database and database user.

I am getting two different error messages between numerous attempts:

• “Error while trying to create admin user: Failed to connect to the database: An exception occurred in the driver: SQLSTATE[HY000] [1045] Access denied for user ‘nextclouduser@localhost’@‘localhost’ (using password: YES)”; I also got the message with only user “‘nextclouduser@localhost’”
  • “MySQL-Benutzername und/oder Passwort ungĂźltig Du musst Details von einem existierenden Benutzer einfĂźgen.” (roughly translates as “MySQL user name and/or password invalid. You must insert credentials of an existing user.”

I am entering the credentials of a user that I have previously set up in MariaDB. I can log into database administration with those credentials (mysql -u nextclouduser -p). So wrong credentials should not be an issue. The user also has full privileges on the database (nextcloud_db) that I have already created.

I have also tried with out pre-creating the database or using the DB root user. That didn’t work either.
I have removed all special characters from the database user’s password (found that tip in the NC forum), but that didn’t help.
Also found the tip to install phpMyAdmin to check the database, but didn’t do as I cannot see the benefit.

For the whole installation, I used the following tutorial: https://www.howtoforge.com/how-to-install-nextcloud-on-debian-11/
I have installed the following software:

• Debian GNU/Linux 10
  • Apache 2.4.38
  • MariaDB 10.3.36
  • PHP 8.1.12

Has anybody got any ideas what to do/try - before going for a complete reinstall?