HowTo: Autorun "spreed-webrtc-server" step-by-step

Howto autorun “spreed-webrtc-server” step-by-step

Motivation

As I become struggling by trying to follow instructions like “...you just need to write a simple systemd unit around it...” I realized that I am still a linux beginner, having some lack on deeper understanding of basic linux behaviour. Therefore I thought it might be helpful to write a step-by-step guide about enabling a systemd unit to autorun the spreed-webrtc-server at startup in the background. This addresses all users that aren’t measurable more experienced in linux than me :slight_smile:.

Assumption

• As I am using a current raspbian on raspberrypi for my server, this guide requires systemd to be available and used for init scripts.
  • Furthermore I assume you got the spreed server installed and running by downloading it manually from github following the nextcloud guide.
  • Struktur AG itself gives some further instructions here.
  • @SyS0p3r provides some nice step-by-step guide here in the forum on how to setup the whole debian-related system from the beginning.
  • At last I assume that you downloaded and setup the spreed server inside the /opt directory and are finally able to start and use it there:

$ cd /opt
$ wget https://github.com/strukturag/spreed-webrtc/archive/master.zip
$ unzip master.zip
$ cd spreed-webrtc-master
$ ./spreed-webrtc-server

Credits

All credits go to @leon, as he provided the official Spreed WebRTC systemd script here and futher instructions about how to get it running. Thanks for your patience again :relaxed:!

Guide

The following steps will enable a most simple systemd unit for the spreed server without much flourish, to keep the effort as low as possible.

1. At first we need to create a system user spreed:www-data, that will be used to start the spreed server later by the systemd unit: