Some apps breaking when multiple instances

I’ve been running NC just fine for several years now, backed by Mariadb and using Redis for distributed memcache and locking. The data and www-root directory are mounted over NFS. So far I ran a single instance of each, though on a docker swarm.

Today I tried to add some redundancy, so I went ahead and added a second replica of the NC server. At first, all appeared to be working perfectly, as it is expected. But then I noticed that the Contacts and Calendar apps (and maybe others) fail to load their contents: I only get the header and sidebar, and a countdown starts to reload the browser tab, saying it failed to load the page.

This suggests to me that over the shared storage, DB and Redis cache, some essential piece of state fails to be properly shared among the instances, and thus when the round-robin balancing within docker inevitably routes the subsequent requests to a different instance, they fail to be validated and served.

When I reduce the instance count back to 1, everything returns to be working.

What may I be missing in configuring my cluster?

With this information alone it is hard to debug. So could be the code/config of Nextcloud, could be something in your cluster-setup as well.

Actually, the approach I would take is checking whether based on what I wrote about my setup, do I fulfill all formal requirements of a clustered NC installation? I’m sure a lot of people did successfully configure such a system, and would be able to pinpoint what obvious I forgot about, before going into actually debugging the error itself.

Is there anything in the nextcloud.log in the data directory ?
And do you have MariaDB/Redis Replicas or just Nextcloud Replicas (the latter would be a lot easier).
Can all Nextcloud Replicas reliably reach MariaDB and Redis ?
Have you configured Redis to be used for Transactional File Locking (you should) ?