Slow, buggy first sync

Hello. I’m new to NextCloud and delighted to have found it. That said, I’m having a heck of a time getting it to work.

I’ve successfully synced one computer and now working on the second. On the second I’m trying to sync about 90GB of information. It would be great if this initial sync would just work tirelessly in the background, but:

1. it frequently times out (after about an hour), then restarts the whole “checking for changes” process;
  2. alternatively it says it can’t get a connection to the server; or
  3. connection timed out; or
  4. server replied Internal Server Error; or
  5. some file is blacklisted.

I’m operating from a Windows 10 Sync Client, a shared hosting environment (on InMotion) with a MySQL database and PHP 7 running on an Apache server.

Both computers are syncing to the same NextCloud Instance but each is syncing to its own folder under the main NextCloud directory.

I do have some 15GB files and it would be helpful to know if there’s something I have to change to allow these files to sync. I’m just using the default config files, I’ve never touched a blacklist file, and the hosted server is always up and running when I check (as you might suspect for a reputable hosing service).

Is there an optimal set of settings and configuration options I should be using? After checking support forums, documentation and error logs, I am no smarter about how to tackle this problem of getting my PC synced. Any assistance, links, etc. would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Les

1 Like

Do you happen to know how much memory and swap your server has?
And during the the sync with errors, how is the memory distributed? (free, in use, cache/buffer)

I’m asking because I have the same kind of symptoms on my system as well.
In my case my server is an odroid HC2 running Armbian with Nextcloud 13.0.1 installed via snap (13/candidate).