Share w/link: permissions for subfolders

Hello Nextcloud-community!

I am quite new to Nextcloud and currently try to set-up a small project. Unfortunately I was not able to figure out how to configure it properly - so perhaps you could help me here?

I want to share a parent-folder with one link. Within the parent there are two subfolders “sub1” and “sub2”.

Non registered users, having the link to the parent-folder shall now be able to upload content to “sub1” and only view/download (no upload-rights) from “sub2”.

So it looks like

• PARENT (shared via link, no upload-permissions)
    – sub 1 (visitors shall be able to upload & view files here)
    – sub 2 (visitors shall be able to view & download files here)

Any ideas if and probably how this can be achieved?

thanks alot!!

Nextcloud version: 11.0.2

I’m not sure that you can do that through a single link, because if I’m not mistaken the permissions are tied to the link (not the folder). This might be an interesting feature request, but it would be helpful to know more about why you want to do it this way. Like why is it important that you only send out 1 link instead of 3?

1 Like

Wow - thanks for the quick reply!

Actually this is more a usability thing. Currently I am using two links for sub1 and sub2, but get always requests from the users that they confuse the two links I have sent - especially as they both are password-protected with the same PW. So they preferred to have only one link - kind of an “entry point” to their project space - where they can see both folders. Especially as this is within the same project and sub1 is filled by the community while sub2 is filled by the admin.