Secure Nextcloud

Hi, I’m very new to Nextcloud, I installed with docker (thanks to portainer) on my Rpi 4 8GB, but now that I have configured duckdns and all, I am at the step to secure Nextcloud, HTTPS, Reverse Proxy.
I’ve wondering some things :

• Is it better to not have nextcloud on internet and access only through VPN ?
  • Apparently we could secure it with cloudflare to protect my network ?
  • I have an unused Rpi Zero W, can I use it for reverse proxy ? Or is it better to put it on the same Rpi 4 than Netxcloud ?
  • And finally if Reverse Proxy and HTTPS is better, I really don’t know how to start using Portainer.

Thanks in advance for your time

Hi @d4rklynk

Not having something exposed directly to the internet will always be more secure obviously. Whether that is practical, depends on how you want to use your Nextcloud. If you for example want to share files with other people, it won’t work, if Nextcloud is behind a VPN.

…or you could secure your network yourself. But that of course requires learning on how to do that.

There is no real need for a local reverse proxy, if you are running only one application and the web server and the reverse proxy are running in the same subnet or even on the same device. I guess there can be a small increase in security, but only if you harden your server properly. Same goes for Docker. If for example everything is running as root on the same machine, you won’t gain much security. But I am not an expert when it comes to docker and how to set it up securely.

I guess you have to play around with it and learn. There are many tutorials out there how to set up a Docker stack using Portainer and reverse proxys. Search on Google and Youtube. Or you could use something that works out of the box like Nextcloud-AIO or the Snap package.

1 Like

How did you end up securing your Nextcloud? Interested because I’m in the same situation.

As described here… without the SE Linux part: