Restricting user groups to certain folders

So I did a bit of research and thought that NextCloud would be the perfect thing to share files and folders in my organization. There are 3-4 workstations that require a shared data set and this looks like it should do it.

I would like to restrict some access so that accidental deletion won’t happen, but everything I look for says that Nextcloud doesn’t have any normal user controls for restricting which accounts can access or delete which files.

I’m really surprised that an application that claims to be enterprise ready doesn’t have anything as basic as folder access controls built in. I’ve seen that there’s supposed to be some control with “File access control” but it looks like it doesn’t actually do any access control the way every other file restriction system works.

I’m familiar with Windows shares & file permissions, and I’ve got some experience with Linux/unix file permissions as well, and nothing in the “File access control” looks like it actually restricts or grants access.

Can I actually restrict or grant access to users with NextCloud, or does everyone just have access to everything. I’m thinking this product wasn’t what I needed if it doesn’t have any way to manage user access.

Nextcloud version 13
Operating system and version ubuntu 18

There are a few options to control access permission to certain folders:

• groupfolders in combination with file-access-control
  • folders shared by a central account (admin account for example) and specific permissions to read-only, read-write or not shared with at all

I suggest to upgrade to NC15 directly as it is richer in features and received some improvements for sharing.

I’m kinda shocked that a file sharing app wouldn’t have rudimentary file permissions as the first thing it does, not in version 15.

I’ll see what I can do. Thanks