Reducing HDD spin-ups - editing crontab changes nothing

Hi, all,

I’m trying to reduce the number of times per day my hard drive spins up from idle, to reduce the physical wear on the drive. Rather a noob here, so please bear with me. I found posts mentioning editing the crontab to increase the interval of scheduled jobs as one way of accomplishing this, and was finally able to figure out how to do so. I successfully edited it from:

*/5 * * * * php -f /var/www/nextcloud/cron.php (run cron.php every 5 minutes)

to:

• */3 * * * php -f /var/www/nextcloud/cron.php (run cron.php every 3 hours)

I confirmed that the edit had taken place, and also that it would survive a reboot. I timed the interval between HDD spin-ups, and found that they were 10 minutes apart - not 5 minutes, and certainly not the 3 hours I was looking for. It didn’t matter whether I was on the network (thinking that an outside request may have been triggering it) or not.

When I checked the crontab today after editing it last night, I saw that it had reverted back to the every 5 minute interval. Not sure if there’s some automatic update that’s overwriting it back to default.

I installed a few apps, so I suppose one or more of those could be triggering it, but I don’t know how to check that.

Running NextcloudPi 1.35.0, with Nextcloud version 20.0.8.1

Pretty confused here, and welcome any insight and assistance. Thanks!

Hello Skyhooker,

Running this command

does not run it every 3 hours, rather every 3 minutes! If you want to run cron every 3 hours, you have to add 0 in the beginning. Thus, your cron should look like below:

0 */3 * * * php -f /var/www/nextcloud/cron.php

I am not sure how your cron works, but for me, I had to add this to the cron root. I found mine under:

cd /etc

I hope this helps

Hi, Cyrus,

Thanks for the reply. I did not know about needing the leading zero - the example I found did not mention the need. I will give that a try. I appreciate the assistance!