Re-Use shared link

Hi,

I successfully shared a file and later had to change some content. The link stayed active but no longer points to the (updated) file. I tried deleting the share and re-sharing it (with a generated link) which worked. I then tried with ShareReneamer to rename the link to the previous link, but it insists that the name is already / still in use.

Any tips for a workaround?

Running 17.0.3 with ShareRenamer 2.7.3

The shared link doesn’t get deleted until

  • the link is “un-shared”
  • the shared file is deleted and removed from the trash bin

However, when one of the above is given, it cannot be reused immediately, but you have to wait for the next tick of the cron job. Cron via AJAX or web cron might not be sufficient here.