Puzzling minor issues with NextCloud VM installations

I have been using Nextcloud for a little over 6 months now. I love it. I have been using it for myself since last September and I just deployed it for a client of mine as well. In both cases I used the VM resources, although in the client’s case I actually used the VM script from HERE to deploy it on a fresh install of Ubuntu Server 20.04.2 running on an old machine that would otherwise have been retired. It was one of those things that no one said would work that I figured would work, and it did. However, I wouldn’t recommend doing the installation on a physical server this way unless you are planning to dedicate the device to NC, but we were, so it was perfect. For my own, I am using the prebuilt VM on a Windows host. I started with the NC19 VM, then recently migrated my data to a fresh NC21 VM, which was a nice upgrade. (I dumped the data out of the old one to a Windows share via CIFS, then imported it into the new one the same way.)

That is all background information. The issues I have are only annoying, and nothing that interferes with usability, but I would like to understand why they are happening and resolve them. 2 of them I believe are connected.

1. Connecting insecurely gives the landing page with “Thank you for downloading the Nextcloud VM, you made a good choice! If you see this page, you have run the first setup, and you are now ready to start using Nextcloud on your new server. Congratulations! :)” I would have thought that this would only appear once and then it would simply forward to the secure login page.

2. Running “sudo -i” to gain root, sometimes because I really need it and sometimes because, yes, I’m too lazy to type sudo repeatedly, triggers the first run script every time I do it. Of course it quits quickly because it realizes it has already been run, but it would be really nice to have “sudo -i” just give me root rather than griefing me with the script every time.