Private user directory

Nextcloud version (eg, 20.0.5): 22.1.1
Operating system and version (eg, Ubuntu 20.04): don’t know (web hosting)
Apache or nginx version (eg, Apache 2.4.25): don’t know (web hosting)
PHP version (eg, 7.4): 7.4.24
Using sqlite

Hi.

This is my first time using Nextcloud, i’m setting it up for a customer.

What i want:
Each user (except admin) should have a private directory for files, he/she should see only files in this directory.

This sounds like it should be simple, but i can’t find the right options in the backend.

Is it possible?

Thanks.

Please do not set up Nextcloud for a customer on a webspace (!!!) and without any knowledge. It’s no wonder that many people think Nextcloud is bad and host their data at Microsoft, Google, Amazon or Dropbox. Don’t manage important data of other people.

Search Managed Nextcloud and pay for it.

Why? Please post more details. I think it is possible. But Nextcloud is a collaboration platform for sharing data. Are you afraid that people will share secret data? They can do that via Dropbox or E-Mail and other platforms if they really want to. It makes no sense.

Thanks for the quick response.

Why? Please post more details. I think it is possible. But Nextcloud is a collaboration platform for sharing data.

Because that’s what the customer wants.

He wants to share files with certain individuals. Each user gets different files. No user shall see files of another user.

Some points:

• on default “no user can see files of another user” including administrator / admin

• the user can configure to share or not to share, the user owns the data in nextcloud

• you can deactive or active re-sharing in admin settings (set to not re-sharing?)

• you can use the app guests which perhaps solves your problem. Watch 2 minutes https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XE7_cNk7E7g
    Guest accounts are very restrictive.

• you can deactivate download option in public shares (does not really help)