Noob to NextCloud encryption

Hello all,

i hope everyone is doing well.

im fairly new to NextCloud and i came accross a topic that im still not sure how it works even after reading on the internet several times.

My setup is as follow at my house and only family members will have access to it.
Raspberry P3 using Raspian.
External USB Hard drive for the data folders

My questions are what is the option of Server-Side encryption, Default Encryption module and home folder encryption?

i’ve seen/read that the encryption works for external mounts (dropbox/gdrive and such) which those will not be available in the Server.

i just want to be able to view the photos/videos the other family members upload to their users so if needed i can run a maximizing software to decrease the size on the pics and recover some hard drive space.

Can you please enlighten my with your knowledge?

thanks!

UPDATE: if i enable the server-side encryption and enable home storate encryption, will it affect the data on the USB external drive?

will i be able to unmount it and plug it on my ubuntu machine to check the files normally?

There is little to no benefit of the server-side encryption on local storage, files will also increase in size about 30%. I’d rather use full disk encryption of your operating system if you want to encrypt your data on your local storage and use encryption containers (VeraCrypt) for sensitive data (client-side encryption).

1 Like

so, if i understand correctly, Server-side and home encryption is more focused to the enterprise rather than home user?

It makes more sens if the data storage is on a different server that you don’t control. You could use Dropbox/GDrive/… as external storage and store files only encrypted that their admins can’t read the files. So it can be useful for home users as well.

makes more sense now… thanks… :slight_smile:

It makes sens for blocking admins for access to users files at local storage either :slight_smile: