Noob - NextcloudPi/Plus or VM or Snap?

Hi!
I am new to Nextcloud, and already confused.

My goals:
-Install and use Nextcloud on my x86 home server, which also serves other needs like SMB, Plex, VM for Torrenting (Ubuntu 18.04 LTS Desktop, Intel 8th Gen i3, 8GB RAM, 240GB Samsung SATA SSD)
-Use it on LAN and via mobile Internet when not at Home
-HTTPS + Lets Encrypt
-Usecases are E2EE Sync + Cloud storage, CalDAV, CardDAV, Bookmark Sync, Notes, SMS Sync, etc.
-Strong Security as this will serve pretty personal data, media and documents
-Most important: AS EASY AS POSSIBLE! I have (Very) basic Linux knowledge (switch from Windows to Ubuntu a month ago), and my network tech knowledge is equally bad.

My questions:
-What is easier: VM, Snap or NextcloudPlus/Pi for debian?
-What has the best build in security? And fast+easy updates?
-What is easier to configure security and network wise?

Right now i am leaning towards the NextcloudPlus/Pi, but the setup on a debian based distro seems to be just a small side feature, with 99% of the docs focused on other platforms (logically, starting as RasPi project).
The VM should be easy too, but i dont know how easy it is to setup the network side of things (VM to WAN, etc., i have 0 knowledge of VM+network tech).
The snap seems to be pretty well documented, but i read it is hard to tweak…

I wanted to use owncloud and now nextcloud for many many years, always shied away because i sensed it would be a nightmare to deal with webserver software. But even with those new and easier methods, i am overwhelmed… Can anybody help me here?

Thanks in advance, and a nice evening!

EDIT: To be clear… With X86 i do mean AMD64… :slight_smile: As opposed to ARM based NCP.

on ubuntu native

or as docker container (yet without online office)

1 Like

Thank you Reiner for your answer!

You seem to offer 2 additional ways to install nextcloud, and while they seem pretty well documented, it only adds to my confusion.