[solved] No push notifications - device does not register to push proxy (?)

Hi,

I have been using Nextcloud (shared hosting) for a few years and I have kept the server and the clients up to date. I have never been abel to get the push notifications to the Android clients (Nextcloud and Talk) to work on my server, whereas they do flawlessly when I use the demo.nextcloud.com test server.
To me, this points to an issue with my server rather than with my device. I read a lot of similar threads here and on github, but I cannot get any push notification on the Android clients.

Nextcloud (server) version : 18.0.2
Nextcloud Talk (server) version : 8.0.7
Nextcloud Notification (server) : 2.6.0
Server IP address: 146.88.234.47

Device : Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro, Android 10
Nextcloud (android) : 3.11.0, from Google Play Store
Nextcloud Talk (android) : 8.0.8, from Google Play Store

I have tried clearing cache and data on the Android device apps, uninstalling and reinstalling a few times the apps, unabling and disabling 2FA authentication, using admin and non-admin accounts, without success. Again, using demo.nextcloud.com I get push notifications on this device e.g. when I receive a federated-shared document, without having to tweak anything e.g. battery management or notification parameters.

I guess the culprit is the device registration process. When I start from scratch (i.e. after deleting the entries in oc_notifications_pushtokens table, I see some hints in the server logs indicating that my device has correctly registered to my server:
[07/Apr/2020:13:39:39 +0200] “POST /ocs/v2.php/apps/notifications/api/v2/push?format=json&pushTokenHash=ed36(…)2eff&devicePublicKey=-----BEGIN%20PUBLIC%20KEY-----%0AMIIBIjANB(…)0A0QIDAQAB%0A-----END%20PUBLIC%20KEY-----%0A&proxyServer=https%3A%2F%2Fpush-notifications.nextcloud.com HTTP/1.1” 201 1027 “-” “Mozilla/5.0 (Android) Nextcloud-android/3.11.0”