Nextcloud with Collabora for intranet without SSL and domain names

Hi all,

first of all i am new to the general topic setting up / configuring Webservers.

I am trying to set up Nextcloud (Nextcloud is working fine!) with Collabora as intranet service at my dormitory. This service should not be accessed from outside the local network i have no domain names and hence can’t get an SSL-Certificate (if i got this right).

Is it possible to set this up with just one ip-address and no domain names or SSL-Certificate? How would i achieve this? Am i wrong with my previous assumptions?

What i got so far:
I have nextcloud running on Ubuntu with Apache2. Using a second Port and VirtualHosts i got a second Server running parallel to nextcloud.

Thanks!

You can setup your own nameserver and a self signed certificate.

Thanks for your reply!
Do you have any recommendations for a nameserver?

I use bind9 and administer it with webmin

I have same question with you. do you solve your problem?

I have had one of my nextclouds running on my home intranet to https://nextcloud.foss *note that there is NO SUCH top level domain.

My netgear router has a way to set the NextCloud’s local IP address as static under DHCP settings. Most wireless or wired routers have this.

Set that now static internal IP address of 192.168.###.### within your next cloud config and within your apache settings and get a self-signed cert.

Last, change your UFW settings to only allow traffic from 192.168.0.0/16.