Nextcloud snap install. Is there a way to use external MySQL server?

I install NC using snap. Currently, the version is: Nextcloud Hub 3 (25.0.3). All things work perfect.

The only thing I do not like is: currently the MySQL server is running on the same server as NC. I have another server running MySQL. Is that possible to config NC to let it using that external MySQL server?

If it is, how can export (using mysqldump) the current database handled by NC snap install?

Thanks.

Hello,

I am no expert but I doubt if this can be done.

Here is what Snap Team says,

The official Nextcloud snap is designed to offer a fully production-ready instance of Nextcloud with minimal setup and maintenance (it updates automatically). If you aren’t a web developer and don’t need to tweak Nextcloud like one, the snap will probably work perfectly for you.

However, the snap is very opinionated. Don’t want to use Apache? Sorry, the snap uses it. Don’t want to use MySQL? Sorry, that’s what the snap uses. Something other than PHP whatever-we’re-using? We picked the version we feel gives the best results. In other words, it’s not very tinker-friendly. We don’t do this to be mean, we do this so that we can reliably update it without your needing to worry about it.

Refer here → Snap or VM? · nextcloud-snap/nextcloud-snap Wiki · GitHub

Reason behind snap is for ease of use. Customization options or modification abilities are very, very limited. Snap is to be used as it is.

However you can try to raise the issue in github with the snap team → GitHub - nextcloud-snap/nextcloud-snap: ☁️📦 Nextcloud packaged as a snap

Thanks.

Not entirely true.