Nextcloud directory accessible through IP-address/other domains on the same host

Nextcloud version (eg, 20.0.5): 27.1.3
Operating system and version (eg, Ubuntu 20.04): Fedora Server 39
Apache or nginx version (eg, Apache 2.4.25): 2.4.58
PHP version (eg, 7.4): 8.2.12

Hi, I just updated to the latest Nextcloud Version without any issue. I have been running Nextcloud on this machine since about 1 1/2 years. After updating to the latest version of Nextcloud I fiddled around with URLs a little to see if anything was off. I was very dismayed when I found out that I could access the complete nextcloud directory including the data directory (inside the nextcloud root) from just entering the IP address or another domain pointing to it and the corresponding path.

Now at this point I had no idea why this is even possible as the .htaccess files should block any access to these directories as far as I understood it.

I took my server offline as everything is (or worse, was) accessible from the internet without authentication.

Looking into the httpd.conf I found the AllowOverride directive for /var/www and var/www/html set to none. I don’t remember changing the directives on installation and the default settings in the Apache config files are not mentioned in the installation documentation of Nextcloud. However, shouldnt the AllowOverride directive set for the virtual host still allow the .htaccess files to function?

Setting AllowOverride to All in the httpd.conf for /var/www and /var/www/html does indeed fix the issue. Can someone explain to me how the settings in the httpd.conf are not overridden by the virtual host configurations?

what are the permissions and owners of your NC-directory?

here’s a quick link for set the correct permissions at least for your data-directory. Setting the permissions for your NC-directory works likewise

Sorry for taking ages to respond to this but I had no time to look into this and just cut internet access to the instance in the meantime.