NextCloud 11.x Crashing During Simple Searches

I’m a NextCloud newbie, but enthusiast. We’re running/testing Nextcloud for deployment with a client. Currently running NextCloud 11.0.1 on Ubuntu 16.04. We’ve also installed Nextant 1.0.6 on top of SOLR as recommend.

We’ve loaded up a small set of data, <200 MB, of various files. When I run a search, the system quickly returns some results and then says “searching other places” at the bottom of the screen. After a minute or so it says “connection to server lost” at the top of the screen. Ultimately, after the second message, the website crashes and takes a few minutes to become responsive again. I don’t have Federated Searching enabled so I’m not sure what these messages mean. The server is responsive to a ping and traceroute test while the website itself is still down.

I’ve run a search across the community, but don’t find anything similar to this issue. Has anyone experienced this problem? Were you able to resolve the problem and how so, if so?

Thanks, in advance, for your help.

Hi,

Best thing is to always provide the logs (nextcloud, web server and other possibly relevant logs) from the latest occurrence as well. The logs usually lead into the right direction :slight_smile:

Schmu

Thanks. I’m working on pulling these - need someone else’s help to do so. Will circle round once I’ve got them.

Sunil

Schmu

Took a while, but finally found a Linux Engineer who can help us pull the logs. Can you please let me know which logs would be helpful in diagnosing this situation? I’ll have the engineer pull the logs and figure out how to post them here. Thanks very much, in advance, for your help and our patience!

Sunil Ohri

Schmu

Is this still something with which you can help? I would greatly appreciate any assistance and insight you can provide. Please let me know - affirmative or negative - if you are able to help. Thanks, in advance, either way.

Sunil

Hi @sunilohri