Need help choosing

Hi all,im running a file server for myself and a few off my family members and im trying to Decide in the best way of installing nextcloud

We will be syncing a lot of big files 700mb- 9GB

Im having trouble deciding if i should use a docker image setup or setup Apache php and mysql.

I have no knowledge of containers

I have can handle the mysql im just not sure about the Apache and php setup.

The server is a quad core ryzen 3 8GB ddr4 system running kubuntu.

A server does not need a GUI like KDE. The GUI can not help you. Also please only use LTS versions for servers e.g. 20.04 LTS and then 22.04 LTS, … and not 21.04, 21.10, 22.10, …

If you want to increase knowledge of containers it is an option.
if not it is no option. The important thing is that you understand your system.

tipp:
In the first step i would install only a test system with test data or copies of data.
Then you can test the different options.

2 Likes

On most decent distros, apache/php/mysql happen almost automatically. I do NOT recommend docker or any other kind of bloat, since ultimately, it is just additional complexity that doesn’t help you get where you’re going.

My distro of choice is Rocky Linux 8, which is a downstream of Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8, but without the required subscription cost in much the same way as CentOS used to be.

I forgot to mention that i am using a lts version of kubuntu, The gui just gives me a leg up whilst setting everything up, as i have access to a web browser to speed up troubleshooting.

Ive had a test system up most of the day the apache and php setups went smoothly and i was able to get a working next cloud set up working.

Ill rope in a few of my friends to help me load test the system and ill get back to you all