NcAIO, Docker, Nginx Reverse Proxy, working great, questions

Hey folks, gotta few fiddly little questions. Overall I’m quite pleased with how things are working.

I work in tech (IT & Python Dev, flexibly) and things came up pretty predictably for this setup - I most followed AwesomeOpenSource on youtube as my basic model of deployment, but a number of differences - I have a DigitalOcean droplet running nginxProxyManager, vague plans to downsize that to vanilla Nginx eventually, but part of good IT is choosing which yaks to shave on any given day. I initially got it up and running on that droplet, but quickly realized my desire for bells and whistles would murder the little thing, so in the end I installed the AIO docker image onto an i5 with 16GB here in my own home and proxied the domain here. This is far from ideal, as I am on Starlink until the man in the coverall comes to drill a hole in my wall and pass the fibre on in. I can verily smell those photons beating against the dead end of the fibre in that box on my outside wall.

Somewhere along the line I read that with all the subcontainers enabled, which I did, you should have at least 5GB ram, but my running instance ate up 12GB, though it seems to be holding steady from there. The system is also managing a 5-disk RaidZ array and I’m a bit worried about the ram actually. This is also definitely not the long-term home of things.

I kept seeing that my address has been identified as 172.19.0.1, which is one of the Docker networks, so I added it to the brute force whitelist, which seems safe - I assume that some other subnet’s 172.19 is not able to reach through our NATs.

Syncs are very slow, even when going from our local lan to our local lan, which makes me wonder if it’s going up and through the proxy. I once had a CCNA but it’s been a long time since I chased packets around so not sure what is up there. This is far, far from a dealbreaker.

Primary goals of this server are: